Regulatory & Standards Task Force



The mission of the Digital Pathology Association Regulatory and Standards Task Force is to advance digital pathology by bringing clarity to the regulatory pathway for digital pathology including its evolution and creating awareness thereof, and working towards the development and adoption of standards as well as promoting interoperability in digital pathology for clinical use.


Participation in this Task Force is open to Benefactor member representatives only.

DPA’s comments on Federal RN for having certain medical devices exempt (click to read the full comment letter)


Making Permanent Regulatory Flexibilities Provided During the COVID–19 Public Health Emergency by Exempting Certain Medical Devices From Premarket Notification Requirements | Click HERE to access the federal register 

Task Force Members


Chair: Markus Herrmann & Heather Jalisi


  • Esther Abels, MSc, Visiopharm
  • Scott Blakely, Hamamatsu Corporation
  • Nathan Buchbinder, Proscia Inc.
  • Marilyn Bui, MD, PhD, Moffitt Cancer Center
  • Chhavi Chauhan, MS, PhD, ELS, American Society for Investigative Pathology
  • Benjamin Chen, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Stephanie Cheng, PathAI
  • Jeff Gibbs, Hyman, Phelps & McNamara, P.C.
  • Eric Glassy, MD, Affiliated Pathologists Medical Group, Inc.
  • John Groth, NorthShore University HealthSystem
  • Emre Gulturk, Paige
  • Markus Herrmann, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Carly Hom, Paige
  • Heather Jalisi, Leica Biosystems
  • Liselotte Kornmann, PhD, Philips
  • Yael Liebes Peer, Ibex Medical Analytics
  • Pei-Chen Lin, aetherAI
  • Giovanni Lujan, MD, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Tamatha Melton, Leica Biosystems
  • Christine Nichols, Hologic, Inc.
  • Handy Oen, MBA, CT, MB (ASCP), Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Liron Pantanowitz, MD, University of Michigan
  • Anil Parwani, MD, PhD, MBA, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Michael Quick, Hologic, Inc.
  • Kim Rendon, Proscia Inc.
  • Jennifer Samboy, Philips
  • Thomas Westerling-Bui, PhD, Aiforia
  • David Witt, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Joe Yeh, MD, aetherAI